Skip to content

Perfect Chocolate Chip Snickers Cookies

November 18, 2011

After Halloween, with our six kids, we have a MOUND of candy. I mean, a MOUND. It’s crazy. This year, we had a ton of chocolates. Snickers, Kit Kat, Twix, Milky Way, Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, you name it. I can’t even name it all! So, with all the Snickers bars, I figured I had to do something. So, I decided to make Snickers Cookies. I searched on the internet and found this recipe. The cookies were probably THE best cookies I’ve ever made (or tasted, for that matter). I gave some away (that way, I couldn’t eat them all :)) and everyone really liked it. I thought it was a hit.

                                

Notes:

  • DON’T skip the brown butter part. It makes the cookies better than the normal chocolate chip recipes. It also gives a toffee flavor to the cookies.
  • Definitely wait and do the 3-min wait parts in the recipe. I didn’t and skipped it. It made the dough really hard to wrap the candy in it.
  • If you do skip the waiting parts, just make it like a sandwich. Put a little dough on the pan, put a couple candy pieces on top, then put more dough on top. Make sure to “close” the sides.
  • I used about 11 fun sized Snickers bars. I cut them width-wise and put a couple in each cookie (I made the cookies a bit too big).
  • Instead of chocolate chips, I used Hershey’s bars. It worked fine and I used maybe 15 bars (the bars with 4 sections in them). I made each section into quarters, so they were about chocolate chip size.
  • Be careful, they spread out a lot. When you put them on the cookie sheet, make them small, so they don’t mould together.
  • The recipe calls for parchment paper, but I don’t believe in that, so I skipped it. It was totally fine coming off the pan, so I wouldn’t worry about that.
  • I cut the sugar to 3/4 cup of brown sugar, as my sweet tooth is not as strong (believe it or not). It was even a little too sweet for me!
                       
                       

Chewy Chocolate Chip Snickers Cookies

Adapted from Cook’s Illustrated |Makes 24-30 3inch cookies      

Preparation: Heat oven to 375 degrees F. Line bake sheet with parchment paper.      

  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • ½ teaspoon baking soda
  • 16 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • ¾ cup brown sugar
  • ½ cup granulated sugar
  • ¾ teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 ½  cup sliced Snickers, (approximately 4 king size candy bars or one bag of mini size Snickers)
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Instructions:      

  1. Place flour and baking soda together in a bowl and whisk to combine; set aside.
  2. Place 10 tablespoons butter in 10-inch skillet over medium-high heat until melted, about 2 minutes. Continue cooking and using the handle of pan to swirl the butter around in the skillet. Swirl butter constantly until it becomes a dark golden brown in color and gives off a nutty aroma, 1 to 3 minutes. Remove skillet from heat and transfer browned butter to large heatproof bowl. Stir remaining 6 tablespoons of butter into hot butter until completely melted.
  3. Add both sugars, salt, and vanilla to brown butter mixture and whisk until fully incorporated. Add eggs and whisk until mixture is smooth with no sugar lumps remaining, about 30 seconds. Rest mixture for 3 minutes, then whisk for another 30 seconds. Repeat process of resting and whisking 2 more times until mixture is thick, smooth, and shiny. Using sturdy rubber spatula or wooden spoon, stir in flour mixture until just combined, about 1 minute. Stir in chocolate chips giving dough final stir to ensure no flour pockets remain.
  4. Using a #24 cookie scoop (basically a small ice cream scoop) or using a spoon scoop out approximately two heaping tablespoons of dough and flatten it into a round disc and place a Snickers slice on top. Fold edges over Snickers to seal it in. (*Optional: For added richness press in chopped Snickers on top). Place cookies 2 inches apart on parchment lined baking sheets.
  5. Bake cookies 1 sheet at a time until cookies are golden brown and still puffy, and edges have begun to set but centers are still soft, about 10 to 14 minutes. Transfer baking sheet to wire rack to cool cookies.

Enjoy!!

From → Cookies

One Comment
  1. What a great way to use leftover Halloween candy! Very creative.

Leave a comment